python script logo

What are the best Python scripts you’ve ever written?

Answer by Akshit Khurana:

Thanking my 500+ friends who wished me on my birthday on Facebook:

It was my 21st birthday and there were three stories that made the day memorable. This was the last one of the day.

I prefer to comment on the wishes individually and personally, but using python to do that was going to be better.

 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
# Thanking everyone who wished me on my birthday
import requests
import json

# Aman's post time
AFTER = 1353233754
TOKEN = ' <insert token here> '

def get_posts():
    """Returns dictionary of id, first names of people who posted on my wall
    between start and end time"""
    query = ("SELECT post_id, actor_id, message FROM stream WHERE "
            "filter_key = 'others' AND source_id = me() AND "
            "created_time > 1353233754 LIMIT 200")

    payload = {'q': query, 'access_token': TOKEN}
    r = requests.get('https://graph.facebook.com/fql', params=payload)
    result = json.loads(r.text)
    return result['data']

def commentall(wallposts):
    """Comments thank you on all posts"""
    #TODO convert to batch request later
    for wallpost in wallposts:

        r = requests.get('https://graph.facebook.com/%s' %
                wallpost['actor_id'])
        url = 'https://graph.facebook.com/%s/comments' % wallpost['post_id']
        user = json.loads(r.text)
        message = 'Thanks %s :)' % user['first_name']
        payload = {'access_token': TOKEN, 'message': message}
        s = requests.post(url, data=payload)

        print "Wall post %s done" % wallpost['post_id']

if __name__ == '__main__':
    commentall(get_posts())

To make this work, you need a token which you can obtain from Graph API Explorer with the appropriate permissions. The script assumes all posts after certain timestamp are birthday wishes.

With a small change in the comments function, I also liked each post.

The screen after I ran the script:

(This screenshot makes things look much cooler than they are.)

Watching the ticker go boom with my likes and comments and the structure of the comments, Shashwat Lal Das | Facebook quickly identified I had done something like this.

Probably not my best python script but this was simple, quick and fun!

The idea came up in a discussion with Sandesh Agrawal in Networks Lab. Thanks for not working on the lab assignments and wasting time with me!

View Answer on Quora

Leave a Reply

